Fandom and Neomedia Studies

FANS Military Studies

Fandom and Neomedia Studies (FANS) Association Military Studies Area

Call for Editors

It is our pleasure to announce a Call for Editors for the new Fandom and Neomedia Studies (FANS) Association Military Studies Area. This area will examine the interplay between the military and media, broadly construed.

Topics may include but are not limited to:

  • (Mis)Representations of military actions and personnel in media
  • Fictional military organizations
  • Military re-enactors
  • War and/or military themed video games
  • Interplay of technology between real and fictional military groups
  • Military in fiction
  • Fiction in the military
  • Military technology and tactics affected by fiction
  • Military oral culture
  • Weaponization of media
  • Autonomous and/or remotely controlled military hardware
  • Military intelligence

While anyone, committee members and non-members alike, may submit a paper for consideration for our peer-reviewed, open access annual journal, The Phoenix Papers, and/or presentation at our conference, committee members must possess certain qualifications.

To be considered for committee membership, an applicant must be an active duty service member, or a national guard or reservist, or uniformed auxiliaries, or honorably discharged therefrom, or the spouse or unremarried widow thereof, or the equivalents thereof outside the United States, or a scholar with a military studies background. Persons from all nations are eligible for membership.

Principle duties of committee members:

  • Preparing an annual call for papers (CFP) for the FANS Conference and our peer-reviewed, open access journal, The Phoenix Papers (ISSN 2325-2316)
  • Promulgation and/or publication of same in relevant venues
  • Reviewing submitted papers and voting on acceptance
  • Editing accepted papers per the FANS Style Guide

To be considered for editorial committee membership, please submit a full professional CV/resume for consideration. The FANS Military Studies Area will go live in August 2017 or when the committee is fully established, whichever happens first.

Committee Members:

  • Daniel Slater, Co-Chair
  • Jeffrey MacHott, Co-Chair
  • Calvin Ballenger
  • Tim Glissen
  • J. Holder Bennett
Short URL: