Fandom and Neomedia Studies

Call for Editors: FANS Social Sciences Studies Area

Fandom and Neomedia Studies (FANS) Association Social Sciences Studies Area

Call for Editors

The Fandom and Neomedia Studies (FANS) Association is pleased to announce a Call for Editors in its new Social Sciences Studies Area. This area will consider psychology, sociology, anthropology, ethnology, and related disciplines.

Topics may include but are not limited to:

  • Media effects on mental and physical health
  • Cyberanthropology
  • Fandom conventions as pilgrimage festivals
  • Participatory culture
  • (Mis)representation of minorities in media
  • Natural disasters as portrayed in social media
  • Use of new technology in traditional disciplines
  • Cultural and ethnological documentaries
  • Fan identities
  • Online rise of social groups and ideologies

Anyone, committee members and non-members alike, may submit a paper for consideration for our annual journal, The Phoenix Papers, and presentation at our conference, but committee members must meet certain qualifications.

Members must have an advanced degree or be in pursuit of one or equivalent experience in a relevant field. They also must have at least one publication in a peer-reviewed journal or in a book published by an academic press. Persons from all nations are eligible to join the committee.

Principle duties of committee members:

  • Preparing an annual call for papers (CFP) for the FANS Conference and our peer-reviewed, open access journal, The Phoenix Papers (ISSN 2325-2316)
  • Promulgation and/or publication of same in relevant venues
  • Reviewing submitted papers and voting on acceptance
  • Editing accepted papers per the FANS Style Guide

To be considered for editorial committee membership, please submit a full professional CV/resume to us. FANS Social Sciences Studies Area will go live in January 2018 or when the committee is fully established, whichever happens first.

Committee Members:

  • Dr. Stephen Reysen, Co-Chair, Texas A&M University-Commerce
  • Dr. Courtney N. Plante, Co-Chair, MacEwan University
  • Dr. Michael A. Vandehey, Co-Chair, Midwestern State University
  • Dr. Diana Harrelson Hubbard, University of North Texas
  • Dr. Ronald Lorenzo, Prairie View A & M University
  • Christopher Groves, Iowa State University
  • Daniel Chadborn, Southeastern Louisiana University
  • Andrew Tague, Texas A&M University-Commerce
  • Connor Leshner, Undergraduate Liaison, Arizona State University
Short URL: