Fandom and Neomedia Studies

FANS Religious Studies Area Call for Editors

Fandom and Neomedia Studies (FANS) Association Religious Studies Area

Call for Editors

We are pleased to announce a Call for Editors for the new Fandom and Neomedia Studies (FANS) Association Religious Studies Area. This area will examine the relationship between media and (non)faith and the shared characteristics of religious (non)belief and fandom.

Topics of papers may include but are not limited to:

  • Fandom conventions as pilgrimage festivals
  • Shared media experiences as rites of initiation or passage
  • Apocryphal and pseudepigraphical texts as fanfiction
  • Popular religion
  • Religious uses of media
  • (Mis)Representations of (non)faith groups in media
  • Online presences of religious groups
  • Interfaith dialogue
  • Media adaptations of religious narratives
  • Mediated faith/state relationships
  • Minorities in religious media
  • Conversion experiences

Though anyone, committee members and non-members alike, may submit a paper for consideration to be included in our annual peer-reviewed, open access journal, The Phoenix Papers, or for presentation at our conference, there are requirements for committee membership.

To be qualified, applicants must be ordained or retired clergy in good standing, or a lay deacon or equivalent, or have or be in pursuit of an advanced degree in religious studies. Citizens of all nations are eligible to apply.

Principle duties of committee members:

  • Preparing an annual call for papers (CFP) for the FANS Conference and our peer-reviewed, open access journal, The Phoenix Papers (ISSN 2325-2316)
  • Promulgation and/or publication of same in relevant venues
  • Reviewing submitted papers and voting on acceptance
  • Editing accepted papers per the FANS Style Guide

To be considered for editorial committee membership, please submit a full professional CV/resume to our Contact Us page. FANS Religious Studies will go live in August 2017 or when the committee is fully established, whichever happens first.

Committee Members:

  • Genyen Nicholas Weiss, MA, MLS, Chair
  • Rabbi J. Holder Bennett, FANS Chair

Short URL: